Electrical engineering faculty member awarded by EurAAP for excellence in electromagnetics

Dimitrios SounasThe European Association on Antennas and Propagation announced that Dimitrios Sounas, an assistant professor in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering at Wayne State University, received the 2020 Felsen Award for excellence in electromagnetics. Established in 2015, the award is presented annually to an early stage researcher in honor of renowned professor and physicist Leopold Felsen.

“I am very grateful and honored to receive this award,” said Sounas. “Professor Felsen’s work has been an inspiration for my research and I now feel even more obliged to honor his legacy to the best of my ability.”

Sounas joined Wayne State in 2018 and leads the Wayne Applied Electromagnetics Group focused on theoretical and experimental research in this domain, with particular interest in the development of novel devices that can meet increasing demand in communication, imaging and sensing systems.

His areas of expertise include smart and active electromagnetic, optical and acoustical devices for communication, biomedical, sending or energy applications. He has made significant contributions in magnetless nonreciprocal components that have attracted considerable attention from academia and industry for inclusion in next-generation wireless technology.

"The award is a testimony of Dr. Sounas' exceptional research record and attests to the world class research being conducted by our ECE faculty and students," said Department Chair Mohammed Ismail.

Sounas is a senior member of IEEE and has authored or co-authored 88 journal papers, 150 conference papers, two book chapters and six patents. Before coming to Wayne State, Sounas spent five years at the University of Texas at Austin as a postdoctoral fellow and then a research scientist. He earned his B.S., M.S. and Ph.D. from Aristotle University in Thessaloniki, Greece.


Return to news